Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Neilson Hays Young Writers Awards 2018 – Finalists by March 17

17th March 2018


Next steps and Key Dates:

March 17, 2018
Finalist Selections: 3 finalists or finalist teams will be selected for each category by March 17th.

March 24, 2018
FinalistsWorkshop: Finalist/finalist teams for each category will be invited for a workshop with published authors and illustrators, to be held on March 24th at Chakrabongse Villas.

June 2, 2018
Awards Ceremony: The final awards ceremony will take place at the Neilson Hays Library on June 2nd.




The Neilson Hays Library is thrilled to announce the launch of the second “Neilson Hays Young Writers Awards”, chaired by M.R. Narisa Chakrabongse, and invites students ages 10-18 to submit illustrated children’s picture books or short stories in English to our children’s writing competition.

In this competition, aspiring young writers and illustrators in the final round will be invited to participate in a workshop at Chakrabongse Villas, where published writers and illustrators will critique and coach the students on their works.

Winners of the competition will get to see their works read out loud by prominent figures in the literary and art world, as well as be presented certificates and a cash prize of 10,000 baht per category.  There will also be a special Ambassador’s Selection Prize of 10,000 baht, presented by H.E. Ms. Donica Pottie of the Embassy of Cananda.

The judging panel features respected members of the literary and publishing community, including:

–Onchuma Yuthavong, writer, director, producer and associate professor of drama
–Khun Ngarmpun Vejjajiva, S.E.A. Write Award-winning author of The Happiness of Kati
–Khun Gee Svasti Thomson, writer and illustrator
–Emma Larkin, journalist and author of Finding George Orwell in Burma
–Janice Santikarn, author of The Little Blue Tuk-Tuk, Koko the Monkey; Lost in Bangkok, and more
–Pieretta Dawn, author, Thailand’s Writer’s Hall of Famer
–Kathy MacLeod, cartoonist and graphic novelist

With support from River Books, Chakrabongse Villas, Kids Academy International School, the American Chamber of Commerce in Thailand, and the Quiet Bangkok Group.


Click here to see the winning entries from the 2017 NHL Young Writers Awards.



–All works must be original and will be checked for plagiarism.
–Entries should not have been previously published (online postings should be removed prior to submission).
–For categories A-D, individuals or teams of up to 3 students may submit one entry to each category. Category E is individual work.
–Work that exceeds the page and/or word limit for that category may be disqualified.
–Peer editing is allowed (in the same grade or younger).
–No adult assistance with the following exception: parents/teachers/older siblings are welcome to type out the work of younger writers, but should not make corrections other than spelling mistakes for the sake of comprehension. The texts for picture books may be handwritten. Minor grammatical mistakes shall not be penalized.
–Please retain a copy of all works submitted, as we are not able to return submissions.
–Entries will be judged on creativity, story-telling flair, and use of effective illustration (for picture books).
–Only finalists and winners will be notified by email, and their names will be announced on the NeilsonHaysLibrary.org website and our Facebook page.



  • 1st prize – 10,000 Baht cash prize per category. If a team is awarded 1st prize, the prize money will be split evenly among team members. Winners will also receive certificates from the library.
  • 2nd and 3rd runners-up will receive certificates from the library.


Contact email: YoungWriters@NeilsonHaysLibrary.org



17th March 2018


Neilson Hays Library
195 Surawong Road
+ Google Map